ScoutRifle.org The Scout Rifle Community
Welcome, Guest. Please Fall In or register.
April 24, 2014, 11:56:13 AM

Login with Scout Name, credentials, and session length
Recon:     Advanced Recon
Holsters and more: www.shottist.com
38981 Posts in 3674 Topics by 1890 Scouts
Latest Scout: Buck82
* Home Help Recon Fall In Enlist with ScoutRifle.org
+  The Scout Rifle Community
|-+  Links
| |-+  Scout Links
| | |-+  Scout Rifle Links
0 Scouts and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Scout Rifle Links  (Read 54487 times)
michaelb
JAFO
*****
Posts: 2095



View Dossier WWW
« on: January 23, 2011, 06:25:08 PM »

Definitions

Scout


The (Revised) Scout Rifle Archive http://chingsling.com/

From rec.guns http://www.recguns.com/Sources/IIID3a.html

Scout Rifle Taxonomy http://www.donath.org/Rants/ScoutRifleTaxonomy/

The Scout Rifle http://members.cox.net/tbenson37/scout.pdf

The Ching Sling by Eric Ching http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching01.php

Super Scout

The Fireplug Club http://www.dvc.org.uk/jeff/jeff1_10.html

350 Rem Mag http://www.chuckhawks.com/350_Rem_Mag.htm

376 Steyr http://www.dvc.org.uk/jeff/jeff13_1.html

The 376 Steyr http://www.chuckhawks.com/376steyr.htm

Pseudo-scout

A Clifton Pseudo-Scout http://smith-wessonforum.com/lounge/104318-does-anyone-else-here-have-scout-rifle-5.html

Poor Man’s Scout

The Mosin Scout http://www.surplusrifle.com/shooting2005/mosinscoutrifle/index.asp

Another Scout Rifle Idea http://gunnuts.net/2009/06/30/another-scout-rifle-idea/

Saving a Burnt Out Jungle Carbine http://www.303british.com/id35.html

Building a Scout Rifle on a Budget http://www.survivalblog.com/2007/10/building_a_scout_rifle_on_a_bu.html

Scout Rifle Scope Mounts http://www.brownells.com/1/3/scout-rifle-scope-mounts

A Turk Mauser Becomes a Scout Rifle http://www.castbullet.com/makeit/m38.htm

Scout Scopes http://scoutscopes.com/

A Mauser 98 Scout Package http://www.outdoorbunker.com/Mauser-98-Scout-Gun-Package-p/%28mt015_ssb27522g%29.htm
   
Guns with the term “Scout” in its title

The Sisk Scout Rifle http://www.siskguns.com/index.php/scout-rifle.html

Springfield Armory M6 Scout http://www.oldjimbo.com/survival/v-shrake/m6.html

Springfield Armory M1A Scout Squad http://springfield-armory.com/armory.php?version=36

Long guns fitted with forward mounted optical sights

Springfield Armory Loaded M1A http://springfield-armory.com/armory.php?version=40

USENET

3090 posts as of 30 January 2011 http://groups.google.com/group/rec.guns/search?q=%2Bscout+%2Brifle&start=0&scoring=d&

Yahoo Groups

Scout Rifles http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/ScoutRifles/

Steyr Scouts ("He's dead, Jim") http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/SteyrScouts/

Web Sites

THE Steyr Scout Rifle Site http://www.steyrscout.org/project.htm#links

Web Pages

Use of the Ching Sling and Safari Ching Sling http://www.yankeefist.net/advancedsling.html

376 Steyr http://www.stevespages.com/jpg/cd376steyer.jpg

Lil’ Brute 45-70 http://www.cylindersmith.com/45-70.html

BLR Scout http://www.browning.com/library/infonews/detail.asp?id=196

XS Scout Mount http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BQY/is_12_52/ai_n16808614/

Leupold Custom Shop and XS Sights http://www.gunblast.com/Leupold-Custom4570.htm

AO and Leupold http://www.gunblast.com/AO_Leupold.htm

A Brief History Of The Steyr Scout http://www.steyrscout.org/scouthis.htm

The New Steyr Scout Rifle http://www.glossover.co.uk/scout/pdf/Gun%20Tests%20August%201998.pdf

Ruger’s New Frontier Rifle http://www.gunblast.com/Ruger_FrontierRifle.htm

Ruger’s New Gunsite Scout 308 Bolt-Action Rifle http://www.gunblast.com/Ruger-Gunsite.htm

Looking at the Scout Concept by Jim Dodd http://www.snipercountry.com/inreviews/scoutconcept.asp

Scout Scopes http://www.chuckhawks.com/scout_scopes.htm

Steyr Scout and SBS Rifles http://www.steyr-aug.com/steyr_scout.htm

The “Other” Factory Scout Rifle http://www.steyrscout.org/savscout.htm

Survival Firearms http://www.angelfire.com/art/enchanter/scoutrifle.html

The Big Bore Steyr Scout and .376 Cartridge http://www.steyrscout.org/376steyr.htm

Steyr Scout Tactical http://world.guns.ru/sniper/sniper-rifles/at/steyr-scout-tactical-e.html

Forums

The Scout Rifle Community http://www.scoutrifle.org/

Forum Threads

Ching Sling http://shtf411.com/the-ching-sling-t12290.html

Lever scouts http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2299496

Lever scouts http://www.marlinowners.com/forums/index.php?topic=47646.0

Scout rifles http://www.levergunscommunity.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=228

Lever scouts http://www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/topics/2663764/1

Lever scouts http://smith-wessonforum.com/lounge/153909-marlin-45-70-scout.html

BLR Scout http://www.survivalistboards.com/showthread.php?t=98678

BLR Scout http://www.warriortalk.com/archive/index.php/t-32258.html

Steyr Club Forums – Other Rifles http://www.steyrclub.com/vb/forums/15-Other-Rifles

Does anyone else here have a Scout Rifle? http://smith-wessonforum.com/lounge/104318-does-anyone-else-here-have-scout-rifle.html

Ruger's new Cooper / Gunsite Scout Rifle http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1299251

New Ruger .308 Win Gunsite Scout Rifle http://www.accurateshooter.com/gear-reviews/new-ruger-308-win-gunsite-scout-rifle/

Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f18/ruger-gunsite-scout-rifle-36193/

Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle - Hunt, Fight, Defend http://www.oneinchgroup.com/2011/01/ruger-gunsite-scout-rifle-hunt-fight.html

SOCOM 16 as a Scout Rifle? http://mscg.yuku.com/topic/1306/SOCOM-16-as-scout-rifle-

Ching Sling User Reviews http://www.opticsplanet.com/reviews/reviews-galco-rs8-ching-sling-rs8b.html

Blogs

Jeff Cooper’s Scout Rifles http://jeffcoopersscoutrifles.blogspot.com/

Blog Posts

On Scout Rifles http://eclecticbreakfast.blogspot.com/2010/06/on-scout-rifles.html

The New Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle http://thetruthaboutguns.com/2010/12/robert-farago/new-ruger-gunsite-scout-rifle/

Michael Bane Blog http://michaelbane.blogspot.com/2010/12/ruger-scout-rifle.html

Why a Scout Rifle…? http://anarchangel.blogspot.com/2006/05/why-scout-rifle-why-boltie-and-why-in.html

Ruger Gunsite Rifle http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2011/01/18/ruger-gunsite-scout-rifle-2/

Wikis

Wiki Articles


Scout Rifle http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scout_rifle

Ching Sling http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ching_sling

376 Steyr http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.376_Steyr

350 Rem Mag http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.350_Remington_Magnum

Twitter

YouTube and Other Online Video


The Rebirth of Colonel Cooper’s Scout Rifle (video) http://www.downrange.tv/blog/the-rebirth-of-colonel-coopers-scout-rifle-video/7918/

Books

The Art of the Rifle http://www.amazon.com/Art-Rifle-Firearms-Jeff-Cooper/dp/0873649311

Book Chapters

The History of Remington Firearms – Google Books http://books.google.com/books?id=jAmkAvoUKIEC&pg=PA95&lpg=PA95&dq=remington+model+600+carbine&source=bl&ots=44VPmrSBQS&sig=Y-FMsZbv_GY28zfPxNiHgEO9vck&hl=en&ei=_zvSSsOfKZKyswPp67HwCw&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=10&ved=0CCcQ6AEwCQ#v=onepage&q=remington%20model%20600%20carbine&f=false

Articles

Eric Ching Blaserpro Directory http://www.blaserpro.com/chingarticles.php

Eric Ching's First Whitetail http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching04.php

Ching Sling by Eric Ching http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching01.php

Safari Ching Sling by Eric Ching http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching09.php

Portable Powerhouse: the .376 Steyr Scout by Eric Ching http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching02.php

The .376 Steyr Scout and 300-grain Handloads in Africa by Eric Ching http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching06.php

2002 Hunt in South Africa with Bush Africa Safaris by Eric Ching http://www.blaserpro.com/articles/ching08.php

Savage Scout Rifle http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BQY/is_2001_Annual/ai_63922918/

Savage Model 10 FCM Scout http://www.shootingillustrated.com/1769/savage-model-10-fcm-scout/

Looking Back At The Scout Rifle http://www.gunsandammo.com/content/looking-back-at-the-scout-rifle

Steyr Scout Rifle by Peter Kokalis http://www.remtek.com/arms/steyr/scout/scout.htm

The Mannlicher Scout Re-Examined http://www.americanhunter.org/ArticlePage.aspx?id=2214&cid=58

Ruger Model 77 Mark II Frontier http://www.shootingtimes.com/longgun_reviews/77_062405/

An Accidental Scout http://www.rifleshootermag.com/featured_rifles/mauser_090607/

Savage Scout Rifle by Barrett Tillman http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BQY/is_2001_Annual/ai_63922918/

Jeff Cooper Scout Rifle Package http://www.americanhunter.org/ArticlePage.aspx?id=2755&cid=54

Manufacturers

Scout Rifles


BLR Lightweight http://www.browning.com/products/catalog/family.asp?webflag_=003B&catalog_=B

Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle http://www.ruger.com/products/gunsiteScoutRifle/index.html

Savage http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/model/10FCM+SCOUT

Steyr Mannlicher Scout http://www.steyrarms.com/products/hunting-rifles/scout/

Scout Scopes

Leupold http://www.leupold.com/hunting-and-shooting/products/scopes/fx-ii-riflescopes/fx-ii-2-5x28mm-ier-scout/

Leupold 1.5-4x Scout Scope via Grizzly Custom Guns http://www.grizzlycustom.com/photos_scout_scope.html

Burris http://www.burrisoptics.com/specialty.html

Nikon Monarch 2x20mm EER (discontinued) http://www.chuckhawks.com/nikon_monarch_2xEER.htm

Scout Mounts

XS Sight Systems http://www.xssights.com/store/scope.html

BLR Scout Mount http://www.browning.com/products/catalog/accessories/detail.asp?value=018J&cat_id=123&type_id=43345

Medesha Scout Mount for M1A http://www.medeshafirearms.com/scope_mount_rails.htm

Ching Slings

Andy’s Leather http://andysleather.com/

Galco http://www.usgalco.com/HolsterP3.asp?ProductID=1710&CatalogID=402

The Wilderness http://www.thewilderness.com/storepinnacle/index.php?p=catalog&parent=153&pg=1


Stocks

McMillan http://www.mcmfamily.com/

Brockman http://brockmansrifles.com/index.asp

Wild West Guns http://www.wildwestguns.com/accessories.html

Pedestal Barrels

Classic Barrel Works http://www.cutrifle.com/index.html

BUIS

Lyman http://www.lymanproducts.com/lyman/sights/

Williams Gunsight Co. http://www.williamsgunsight.com/

Wild West Guns http://www.wildwestguns.com/accessories.html

Brockman http://brockmansrifles.com/index.asp

XS Sight Systems http://www.xssights.com/store/scope.html

New England Custom Gun Service Ltd http://newenglandcustomgun.com/

Magazines

Steyr http://www.steyrarms.com/store/index.php/magazines.html

Savage https://store.savagearms.com/magazines-misc-parts-1/magazines.html

Savage 9 round http://www.sharpshootersupply.com/

Ruger (Accuracy International) http://www.accuracyinternational.com/accessories_list.php

Ammo Carriers

Andy’s Leather http://andysleather.com/

Galco http://www.usgalco.com/HolsterP3.asp?ProductID=1710&CatalogID=402

Brockman http://brockmansrifles.com/index.asp

Bipods

Harris http://www.harrisbipods.com/

Accessories

Pachmayr swivels http://www.pachmayr.com/sling-swivels.php

Ruger triggers http://www.spec-tech-industries.com/

Steyr Scout User’s Manual http://www.steyrarms.com/fileadmin/user/pdf/ultrascoutelite.pdf

Scout Rifle Gunsmiths

Grizzly http://www.grizzlycustom.com/custom_bolt_rifle_scout.html

Wild West Guns http://www.wildwestguns.com/

Brockman http://brockmansrifles.com/index.asp

Shooting Schools

Gunsite Academy http://www.gunsite.com/main/

Thunder Ranch http://www.thunderranchinc.com/

Scout Rifle History

Redfield Scout Scopes


http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/-strse-53781/1964-Redfield-M-dsh-294-Scope/Detail

http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/-strse-53611/1965-Redfield-Scopes-Ad/Detail

Leupold Scout Scopes

http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/-strse-53785/1964-Leupold-M8-dsh-2X-Scopes/Detail

http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/-strse-53723/1965-Leupold-M8-dsh-2X-Scopes/Detail

Remington M600 advertisement

http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/-strse-53501/1966-Remington-Model-600/Detail

Remington M600 Magnum advertisement

http://store.vintagepaperads.com/servlet/-strse-53714/1965-Remington-Model-600/Detail

Brent Clifton disappearing bipod patent

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/4776124.pdf

Clinton Coates Budget Scout Rifle Page on the Internet Wayback Machine

http://web.archive.org/web/20031003112453/http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/Clinton_Coates/

Beast Enterprises Ching Ring on the Internet Wayback Machine

http://web.archive.org/web/20031001184856/www.beast-enterprises.com/chingring.html

Jeff Cooper Commentaries

http://www.dvc.org.uk/jeff/


« Last Edit: September 22, 2011, 03:31:14 PM by Andy » Logged

"The object of the practical rifleman is the achievement of first-round hits, on appropriate targets, at unknown ranges, from improvised firing positions, against the clock." - Jeff Cooper, The Art of the Rifle
michaelb
JAFO
*****
Posts: 2095



View Dossier WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 05:51:26 PM »

Yo, Fellow "Scouters!"  I'm open to influence.  Please share your ideas for other links.  One of these days we'll go rewrite the Wikipedia scout rifle page.  Michaelb
Logged

"The object of the practical rifleman is the achievement of first-round hits, on appropriate targets, at unknown ranges, from improvised firing positions, against the clock." - Jeff Cooper, The Art of the Rifle
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Want help with your SMF Forum or WebSite contact Small Networking Assistant!

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!